Accreditation Equivalency

- Accreditation Systems Deemed Equivalent to Health Authority – Abu Dhabi (HAAD) 

There are many acceptable CE accreditation systems throughout the region and the world and HA-AD recognizes many of these systems as “equivalent”. That is, participants in CE accredited by one of these recognized bodies can count the CE for Category 1 credit hours, just as they would if they had attended a HA-AD-accredited event. The following is a preliminary list of accreditation systems deemed equivalent to HA-AD (while this list is mostly for physician organizations – HAAD will consider organizations that accredit pharmacy, nursing or allied health continuing education as well) :


Middle East Accrediting Organizations:

  • Kuwait Institute of Medical Specialization
  • Saudi Commission for Health Specialties
  • Hamad Medical Corporation, Qatar (Department of Medical Education)
  • Ministry of Health, Sultanate of Oman (Directorate General of Education and Training “DGET”)


North American Accrediting Organizations:

  • Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)
  • American Medical Association Physician Recognition Award (AMA-PRA)
  • Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)
  • ANCC for nursing
  • Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (Maintenance of Competence Program – MOC)
  • College of Family Physicians of Canada


UAE Accepted Accrediting Organizations:

  • UAE Ministry of Health
  • Dubai Health Authority
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, United Arab Emirates University


UK, European and International Organizations:

  • Royal College of Physicians (CPD Approval System)
  • European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education